Home > Emotional > Follow Your Passion…

Follow Your Passion…

December 19, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

This is part of a post I found at the bassplayerdocs blog today. I’ve been thinking a lot about what my passions are lately, and trying to reorganize my life so that I can spend time doing those things that I’m most excited about. It’s funny, though, I’ve had a really difficult time identifying what really drives me. I’ve got some things that get me excited, like this blog, but nothing that really lights me up. I’ll continue searching, and keep you all posted on what I find. In the meantime, enjoy this little tidbit:

____________________________________

Most of us are stuck with doing things for the sake of doing them. When we were kids, we dream about what we wanted to become when we grow old. However, when reality starts to get the best of us, we end up settling for what’s available and totally forget our dreams and passions (like getting stuck with our day jobs because it pays the bills.) Leaders, however, know that passion is a key trait that they need to keep and maintain. Jonathan Byrnes, a Senior Lecturer at MIT and President of Jonathan Byrnes & Co., writes that “Leaders are people who leave their footprints in their areas of passion.“ Customers, business partners, followers, fans and people around you will sense what you’re passionate about because they can see it in you. The late Steve Jobs understood the value of passion where he described one of his major mistakes at Apple when he came back in 1997: Letting a desire for profitability outweigh passion. Great leaders are passionate about what they do, inspire others and ignite the passion within them to do the same. We need to do the same to take our potential to the next level.

photo credit: danielfwilliams.blogspot.com

  1. December 20, 2011 at 4:55 am

    that’s so right Justin
    i never felt really happy working before i managed to find the field that i love to work at
    thank you

  2. December 20, 2011 at 11:52 am

    farouk,

    it’s amazing how many of us accept being a part of the rat race. Finding work that we love is so important… we spend a third of our life doing it, right?!? I know for me, finding work that I love changed my life – I became a better father, husband, and all-around person.

  3. January 17, 2012 at 10:51 am

    Justin,

    I think one key challenge is finding our strengths and working with them. Taking personality tests is one way to learn more about ourselves and understanding what we are passionate about. We all go thru the searching phase of our lives. The important thing is we find what we’re looking for and work with it

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

