Home > Intellectual > Death to Procrastination!

Death to Procrastination!

December 3, 2011

Read an interesting post at the want2speakspanish blog. Here’s the part that I liked:

_______________________________

Never put off till tomorrow what you can do today

This is a very powerful phrase.  Another American founding father, Benjamin Franklin, is attributed to saying that, “Lost time is never found.”  When we sit back and do nothing about something, we can’t get that time back to do it later.

The reason I have been thinking about this is that I recently read a blog post at Tres Meses Hasta Exito.  He has a very good blog post recently on just this subject. It’s all in spanish, but I would recommend everyone read it.  I am going to quote just one part of it here that I really loved:

Nadie va a hacer cosas para mi.  Nadie va a aprender idiomas nuevos o ir al gimnasio o escribir una novela o cualquier cosa yo quiero hacer en mi vida.  Tengo que hacer cosas si quiero tener exito.  Claro, hay muchas cosas quiero hacer en mi vida, y tal vez no puedo completer todo, pero es cierto que no voy a terminar nada si sigo a decir mañana, mañana, mañana

Nobody is going to do things for me. Nobody is going to learn new languages ​​or go to the gym or write a novel or anything I want to do in my life. I have to do things if I want to be successful. Sure, there are many things I do in my life, and maybe I can not complete everything, but it’s true that I will not finish anything if I say tomorrow, tomorrow, tomorrow. [emphasis is mine]

____________________________

My Two Cents: Procrastination is a life killer. It does no good to put off that which can be done today. Work through your list, do what needs to be done, and then work on the things that you*want* to be doing! By keeping the wheels of motion rolling, you’ll ensure that things stay fresh, that you won’t, as the saying goes, “gather any moss”.

 

photo credit: simplyzesty

